Am Baking: Chewy Meringue Recipe

14 May

I’m a huge fan of meringues.This is a fabulous recipe that creates billowy, chewy, moreish meringues (and I know they’re moreish as I’m having to restrain myself from having another). I’ve just served mine with some whipped cream and icing sugar with a dash of vanilla plus some fruit, for health, obviously.

Ingredients

  • 4 egg whites
  • 200g caster sugar
  • dash of vanilla extract
  1. Turn oven to 130 degrees fan (150 regular).
  2. Beat the egg whites until stiff with an electric mixer. Then, while the mixer is still going, pour in the sugar. Beat until glossy, thick and will form stiff peaks. Mix in the vanilla extract. If using a hand electric mixer this might take slightly longer but with my kitchenaid the whole process takes about ten minutes.
  3. Put spoonfuls on a baking tray with greaseproof paper stretched over (I stick mine down with a blob of the raw meringue in each corner) and bake in an oven for 1 hour 10 minutes.
  4. When the timer goes off, switch the oven off and allow the meringues to cool down in there.
  5. Beat the double cream (I used about 200ml). When thick mix in a little vanilla extract and a few teaspoons of icing sugar.
14 Responses to “Am Baking: Chewy Meringue Recipe”

  1. Vivienne Kenyon January 3, 2013 at 10:30 am #

    I liked this recipe so much, I’ve looked it up again to serve to friends after dinner.

    • Helen January 3, 2013 at 11:39 am #

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it. And thanks for the reminder, I haven’t made it in a while. I must do so!

  2. Lorraine February 22, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    I have a dinner party tomorrow evening and am making a pavlova with your recipe, I am not very good with meringue’s so will let you know how it went

    • Helen February 22, 2013 at 4:02 pm #

      Good luck with it. The trick is, let it dry out for as long as possible. The sooner you make it before dinner the better. I leave mine in the oven, once it has cooked for the required time, and switch the oven off. Sometimes leaving it overnight.

      • Lorraine February 25, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

        The pavlova was amazing and a total success. The meringue was perfect, I will certainly use your recipe again and again. I left the meringue in the over as you suggested till the over was totally cold, I baked it in the morning and removed it late afternoon. I wish I could send you a picture as I am so proud of it πŸ™‚

      • Helen February 25, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

        Fantastic Lorraine. I’m so pleased it went well! πŸ™‚

  3. Vix April 13, 2013 at 10:06 pm #

    I’m going to attempt making these with a nine year old shortly!!! He wants to make them for his mum, as a treat for after tea tomorrow! Wish me luck, I will let you know how it goes!

  4. Polly Fisher June 28, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    I have made these twice now, perfectly crisp outside and wonderfully chewy inside, so simple too, takes 10 minutes using my stand mixer. Thank you very much

    • Helen June 28, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

      Thank you for letting me know, Polly. Lovely to hear!

  5. Miranda December 27, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    Omg I got a kitchen aid for Xmas. I have literally never been able to do meringue and tried this recipe today I haven’t stopped dancing lol can’t stop making them is there a savoury meringue dish!!!!

    • Helen January 6, 2014 at 1:27 pm #

      Ha! I could make meringues all the time in my kitchen aid! Glad the recipe went well πŸ˜€

  6. patsy February 15, 2014 at 1:33 am #

    wonderful, so easy to make and even easier to eat, can’t keep up with the family eating them!

    • Helen February 24, 2014 at 9:40 am #

      Thank you. Glad you enjoy them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

