Let’s Go Outside: Another fox attack: Updated

16 Jul

P1190917

This weekend we had another fox attack. This time the fox had the audacity to come right up to the pond, next to the house, and grabbed the female. I was woken by my nephew at 5.30am on Sunday saying, ‘Aunty Helen, there’s a fox on the lawn with a duck in its mouth.’ Both my husband and I ran downstairs immediately, but somehow the duck had escaped. I searched for the fox, sensed movement on the far side of the pond so clapped my hands. It fell into the water, but got out and ran over the road. It was a big one.

The duck is not looking good. I can’t get close to her as she moves to an area around the pond impossible to get to. And Neville is protecting her. I’ve put food and water as close as I dare – she isn’t walking up to the usual food area, she isn’t even swimming. But when I put the water down for her she gratefully had a drink. I’m guessing she is suffering from shock, poor thing, and I don’t want to do anything that will shock her further.

I wish they were used to being handled by humans. I wish they had been brought up sleeping in a duck house at night. I have tried to make them come to me in the year we’ve owned them but they don’t want to know. But what is done is done I suppose. I know I’ll do things very differently if I raise ducks myself.

If something happens to her, I don’t know what we’ll do with Neville.

Updated: Poor duck died, probably as I was writing this post. Now Neville is alone. But we’re on the case and have already identified a breeder to get him two new mature female friends.

6 Responses to “Let’s Go Outside: Another fox attack: Updated”

  1. Linda Fornal July 16, 2013 at 8:10 am #

    Poor ducks and poor you. Maybe you could introduce some more ducks, handle and house them in front of Neville and his lady, so they get the idea. xx

    • Helen July 16, 2013 at 8:27 am #

      Yes that’s been our thinking. And put a house with run next to pond so we can keep them safe, they have access to a paddling pool and we can let them out onto the big pond during day when not as much at risk of foxes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New life in Hen Orchard | Hen Orchard - July 26, 2013

    […] the sad news about our ducks it is a delight to see new life in Hen Orchard. Prince George, as we have called him, was born on […]

  2. Happy ducks | Hen Orchard - July 28, 2013

    […] last twenty four hours have been very exciting.  Losing birds in such a vicious fashion through a fox attack (and here) is extremely distressing, yet, also, part of the life we have to accept. We can keep […]

  3. Neville? | Hen Orchard - April 23, 2014

    […] being a bit of a rubbish bodyguard, he lost his original two wives last year (and see also here), likes to be The Man. He stands proud when the girls feast and lets them eat before himself. When […]

  4. Planning for the Year Ahead | Helen Redfern - January 8, 2015

    […] headed Let’s Go Outside) because not only did they bring back lots of memories (my lovely ducks! the number of trees we planted!) but it was lovely to see the record of what we have achieved since […]

Leave a Reply

