Planning for the Year Ahead

8 Jan

PicFrameI love beginnings. I love fresh starts. I love the feel of potential at the beginning of the year. Whether it be in January, or the beginning of a school year in September. They are useful times to collect your thoughts and think about what you’re doing, make a list if need be, and to crack on refreshed.

I don’t do resolutions anymore. Foolishly I thought I’d do a dry January but why put myself through the guilt when I inevitably crack. So. No resolutions that can be broken and that then lead to guilt and feelings of failure. Instead I have ambitions and dreams. And that is to be a published author. To get my book finished and in the best shape possible to send out to publishers. 2015 will be the perfect year in which to do this.

This blog is another one of my ambitions. I want to create great blog posts, to document and photograph my life with the trees, the chickens and, hopefully, come spring, some ducklings (eep!). I’ve just been looking back at some of the posts I wrote on my other blog, Hen Orchard, which I’ve now closed. I’ve imported the ones important to me onto this blog (they’re headed Let’s Go Outside) because not only did they bring back lots of memories (my lovely ducks! the number of trees we planted!) but it was lovely to see the record of what we have achieved since moving to the country. I’m going to continue to write these posts in addition to food in fiction, my own novel writing adventure and books in general. Along with cake. There will always be cake.

In addition, I’m thinking, thanks to this post by Sarah Painter, of taking this blog self-hosted. There are a number of reasons for this but mainly it is to have a more secure and professional place where I write my hopes, dreams, loves, recipes and post pictures of all the things that make me happy.

Blogging is such a lovely thing to do. I thoroughly enjoy it and have dipped my toe in and out of it over the years, creating different blogs for the different things that I enjoy. But now I’m bringing them altogether on one blog. For that is me.

8 Responses to “Planning for the Year Ahead”

  1. Rachael Wilson January 8, 2015 at 3:02 pm #

    I really enjoyed reading about your life , guess its most of the things I’m interested in . Makes me feel positive , I put a lot of my bits of life on face book ( worry I bore my friends ) Scarlett my younger daughter says Mum you make your life sound perfect but I just don’t share the bad stuff , we all have it ! I find when I’ve posted something happy from my home , garden , kitchen or just life stuff it can make me feel happier if I was having a down day .
    Will look forward to hearing about your everyday life and good luck with the book I will buy a copy when it’s published !
    Off to walk Tara my cocker spaniel , have a good afternoon Rachael x

    • Helen January 8, 2015 at 6:17 pm #

      Thank you so much Rachael. That’s exactly how I feel. I do share some of the bad stuff too, like when we had repeated fox attacks and everything felt overwhelming, but I do like to focus more of the good stuff. Because life is good, most of the time. I’m also on instagram and love looking back at all the scenes that have filled me with joy.

  2. mrscarlielee January 12, 2015 at 10:29 am #

    Agree with both of you – focus on the good stuff! And huge cheers for the dog-walking, chicken-feeding grubby loveliness of life – may 2015 be stuffed with it!

    • Helen January 13, 2015 at 9:34 am #

      Yay! Exactly. Thank you!

  3. Sarah January 13, 2015 at 7:04 am #

    Yay for dreams and plans and new beginnings (and lovely photos and celebrating the good stuff!). I have an excellent feeling about your 2015! x

    • Helen January 13, 2015 at 9:33 am #

      Oh Sarah. What a lovely thing to say. My favourite comment – ever! Fingers crossed xx

  4. hencorner January 13, 2015 at 9:30 am #

    Ooh, Helen, I couldn’t have said it better myself!
    Here’s to a great 2015…
    Sara

    • Helen January 13, 2015 at 9:33 am #

      Thanks Sara. And I love the sound of the changes you’re making at Hen Corner this year. Good luck with it all!

Leave a Reply

